Friday Outings Part 1

Yesterday marked the first Friday outing with my new student. I am hoping to turn these trips into an opportunity to work on my iphone photo skills.

After great debate on what the weather was going to do and what would be a fun first outing…we decided to head down to the Oregon Historical Society in Downtown Portland. We had a great time wandering around all the exhibits and talking about the various things we stumbled across.

We were entertained by a few of those ‘museum’ movies. You know the ones that play in an empty room with a bench or two, but rarely anyone actually watching. Well today people actually watched them. We both learned that there was a baseball stadium in Portland that burned down in the 50’s and was then replaced by the stadium we both know of today, Jeld-Wen Field…it’s a soccer stadium now for the Portland Timbers. Here are a few of the phones I snapped with my phone (no flashes) while we were there.

Enjoy! And next Friday we are heading to see the new movie 42…The True Story of Jackie Robinson.

Oregon Voices

Looks like Oregonians have always had personality…Nice Bunny Ears!

Oregon Historical Society

Groovy looking seal.

Terry Porter

Terry Porter

NBA Portland Trailblazers

Railroad Crew Talk

Railroad lingo

Tribal Mask

Native American Tribal Mask

All Aboard!

This was a very interesting exhibit

Ship Wheel

“I’m sailing! I’m sailing! I’m sailing! I sail! I’m a sailor! I sail!”

(Bonus respect points if you can name the movie)

OHSU Ether Inhaler

“Hey Doc, you know….this fibro is really flaring up. Got anything for the pain?”

Oregon Health & Science University is 125 years old

Music

Phun Photo Philtering

Get your hair did

“Time to git my hair did!”

This one reminded me of my Grandmother who, at 10:00 am every Saturday morning, would go get her hair did!

Thank You All

Hi everybody!!

I wanted to step away from my normal stuff and take a moment to thank you, my readers and followers. Without you, I’d be writing in a journal that I would stumble upon 10 years from now and think what a mess I was. Instead, I have a digital record of the mess I am, hahaha.

Seriously though. The last two months or so have been more then I ever imagined. It all started out with an idea to write a book about my experiences as a man with Fibro. In researching, I saw it mentioned that a blog was a good way to start working out ideas, so I thought what the heck. I honestly had no idea what I was getting myself into, and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

I have tried to incorporate some various themes outside of my Fibro crap stuff. This has allowed me to experience such a wide range of bloggers and styles. It has been amazing. I have found a strong connection within the Fibro/Cronically Ill family, and hope that I have been able to share my experiences to those who would not normally follow a ‘Fibro’ blog. So to all of you amazing photographers, artists, comics, fashionistas and poets…thank you for coming by.

To my (dis)Abled friends and family. You have all been an amazing support to me. No words could be put together to show how much you all mean to me. I have gained more strength from all of you, then all the prescription drugs, psychotherapists and yoga classes combined. Thank you thank you thank you!!

I look forward to much more sharing, both to and fro, in the time to come. Also, if you haven’t already, be sure to check out my Facebook page From The Fog

Thank you all,
Dave